Social Networking for Business Applications


By Jeff Burnstein, RIA President

Okay, I’ll confess.  I’ve never used Twitter.  I have a Facebook account but only use it for communicating with friends and family.  I run a LinkedIn community for RIA, but am having difficulty getting it to be the interactive site I envisioned.  I have texting on my cell phone but rarely use it.  I don’t do Instant Messaging.  Am I badly out of touch with the most popular ways to communicate these days?

I suspect the answer is yes and no.  Yes, in the sense that my teenage daughters are light years ahead of me in communicating via the latest communications  advances.  No, in that there are many others just like me who are wrestling with how to make business use of these new advances.

To help all of us, regardless of where we are in terms of experience with Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, etc., we’ve invited James Spellos of Meeting U to speak at the upcoming Robotics Industry Forum in Orlando, January 20-22, 2010.  Mr. Spellos is an expert in the field of social networking and will share real-world examples of how companies have taken advantage of the new opportunities created by social networking.

He’ll also share insights into how to improve search engine optimization of websites and cover other issues important to all of us.

Mr. Spellos is just one of many fascinating speakers on the Forum agenda.  Any employee of an RIA member company is eligible to attend.
Full details can be found at www.robotics.org.

The 2010 Forum is collocated with the annual AIA Business Conference and MCA Business Conference.  Bringing the machine vision and motion control industry leaders together with robotics industry leaders should yield an enormous number of new networking opportunities.

Following the meeting, we’re hoping everyone can take advantage of the new opportunities by using social networking tools.  Time will tell.  In the meantime, the best way to reach me is via email at jburnstein@robotics.org or telephone at 734/994-6088.  Old school?  Perhaps.  But, I trust there are many others just like me, which is why Mr. Spellos’ session is eagerly anticipated!

Leave a Reply

